loader image

Metro­po­link Heidelberg

Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val Heidelberg

The Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val attracts thousands of people to Heidel­berg and the region every year with its many dif­fe­rent urban art­works and nume­rous events – but what is this fes­ti­val anyway?

In the fol­lowing arti­cle, we’ll tell you ever­ything you need to know about the famous street art festival.

Urban art in Heidelberg

artist, graffiti art Heidelberg, modern urban development, design public space
The Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val is a street art fes­ti­val foun­ded in 2015 by Pascal Baum­gärt­ner and under the patro­nage of Prof. Dr. Eckart Würz­ner, who has been the Lord Mayor of Heidel­berg since 2006.

It came about when Pascal Baum­gärt­ner, who is an artist hims­elf, talked to the Lord Mayor of Heidel­berg, Prof. Dr. Eckart Würz­ner, at one of his ope­nings about the use of space and street art in Heidelberg.

Since the Lord Mayor of Heidel­berg hims­elf is clo­sely con­nec­ted to the topic of urban deve­lo­p­ment, one thing led to ano­t­her and the Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val, as it is now known, came into being under the patro­nage of the Lord Mayor in coope­ra­tion with Pascal Baumgärtner.

Every year, more than 50 world-renow­ned street artists visit Heidel­berg. Among them stars like Her­akut, sam3 or Bordalo II. They spend their time pain­ting murals on buil­ding walls with the help of a lif­ting sur­face, which can often take several days.

Such art­works as part of Metro­po­link deco­rate Heidelberg’s city center and the sur­roun­ding area, aiming to give a new per­spec­tive on the city and get people thinking.

Creative works create spaces and bridges for exchange and interventions in the art scene of this world
Urban art by Hen­drik Beikirch
Such a work of art is also in the small town of Schwet­zin­gen, 10 km west of Heidel­berg, on a house wall.

The artist Hen­drik Bei­kirch pain­ted in 2020 a por­trait which he called “Lebens­werk” which can be trans­la­ted to life’s work. It is about a Schwet­zin­gen aspa­ra­gus farmer, namely Ilse Fackel-Kretz. Ilse Fackel-Kretz is famous for her aspa­ra­gus and has also been fea­tured in the Lan­des­schau series about Schwet­zin­gen aspa­ra­gus far­ming, as three genera­ti­ons have now been in the aspa­ra­gus field.

The art­work extends to a height of 5 meters and thus covers almost the entire wall of the house.

The artist is known for his large pain­tings and has also worked on huge art around the world.

Ano­t­her of Hend­rick Beikirch’s art­works is loca­ted in South Korea in Busan. In 2012, he crea­ted the 70-meter-high pain­ting of a fisher­man, which is one of his most famous pain­tings. Shortly before, many of the fisher­men had been driven out of Busan in order to build the sky­s­cra­pers that are loca­ted a short distance away.

He thus wants to try to convey deeper con­tent with his images and make people think.

 

 

Her­akut
Her­akut, on the other hand, is a German artist duo from the street art scene. The name of the artist duo is a com­bi­na­tion of the two artist names of the artists. Hera, civil name Jasmin Sid­di­qui and Akut civil name Falk Lehmann.

The artist duo has worked in major cities around the world, inclu­ding Los Ange­les, Toronto, Kath­mandu and San Fran­cisco, which they have embel­lis­hed with art­works in their unique, dis­tinc­tive style, cha­rac­te­ri­zed by ima­gi­nary worlds and characters.

children, graffiti
.

One of these unique works can also be found at Phil­ipp-Otto-Runge Straße 2 in Heidel­berg. It was crea­ted at one of the first Metro­po­link Fes­ti­vals in the summer of 2016. On the facade of the house, there is a huge pain­ting of a mother with her two child­ren, who she holds pro­tec­tively in her arms. Next to the pain­ting is a wri­ting with the inscription:

“if you let outer appearan­ces scare you, you might miss out on great beauty inside “.

The artist duo tries to convey an important mes­sage to society through each of their pain­tings and their inscription.

Sam3

Sam3 is a Spa­nish artist who has become known for his sil­hou­ette-like murals. His images are mostly ironic, poetic and pro­vo­ca­tive at the same time.

One of his trade­marks are sym­bols such as lad­ders and roots, as well as that he illus­tra­tes without color.

His art­work, which was crea­ted at the fes­ti­val, can be admi­red in the former mili­tary sett­le­ment Patrick Henry Vil­lage. It depicts a black figure tal­king to three other people. Around the three other people is a kind of circle drawn from roots, which arise from the mouth of the first person.

Artis­tic districts

buildings,  stadt , Eppelheimer Straße 80
In districts of Heidel­berg such as Bahn­stadt, Neu­en­heim or Rohr­bach, for example, you can find many such urban art­works on house facades.

This inclu­des the art­work on a house wall in the old Eppel­hei­mer Straße 80 by the artist Smash137. This has crea­ted a work of art, from many crea­tive color splash-like shapes, which merge into each other in dif­fe­rent colors are seen.

Many of these urban arts can also be seen on South Get­tys­burg Avenue, where artists have been allo­wed to express them­sel­ves crea­tively on the walls of the buil­dings and their work can now be proudly seen on the buil­ding facades.

One of the cul­tu­ral high­lights of the pan­de­mic year inclu­ded a per­for­mance by German rapper Samy Deluxe on South Get­tys­burg Avenue in August 2020

Patrick Henry Village

Of course, such art­works are not only found on house faca­des in Heidel­berg, but they can also be found in the sur­roun­ding region.

Since 2019, the artists of the Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val have been enga­ged in trans­forming the Patrick Henry Vil­lage into a district of the urban future.

The 100-hec­tare site out­side Heidel­berg in the Kirch­heim district is a former U.S. Army housing deve­lo­p­ment that was built in the 1950s and used as housing for mili­tary per­son­nel and their families.

Artist, Wall, Art, artist
After the attack on the World Trade Center in New York on Sep­tem­ber 11, 2001, the housing estate was sealed off and fenced off in 2003.

On Sep­tem­ber 6, 2013, the U.S. Army left Patrick Henry Vil­lage after the majo­rity of the sol­di­ers and their fami­lies sta­tio­ned in Heidel­berg and the sur­roun­ding area were trans­fer­red to the new U.S. Army head­quar­ters in Wiesbaden.

Since Decem­ber 2014, areas of the former mili­tary sett­le­ment have been used by the Federal Office for Migra­tion and Refu­gees as the main arri­val center in Baden-Würt­tem­berg for refugees.

Since the Patrick Henry Vil­lage has been vir­tually empty since 2014 and it is one of the last open spaces in Heidel­berg, it is the per­fect place for the festival.

Exhibitions in the Px factory among others a portrait

New life infused

n coope­ra­tion with the Inter­na­tio­nal Buil­ding Exhi­bi­tion Heidel­berg, IBA, the Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val 2018 laun­ches a new pro­ject called “PHVi­sion”, a pro­ject for art, cul­ture and science.

The IBA now has the motto “Know­ledge crea­tes city” since 2012 and deve­lops for­ward-loo­king solu­ti­ons for com­plex, urban deve­lo­p­ment chal­len­ges. Hence the pro­ject in col­la­bo­ra­tion with Metropolink.

With the con­ver­sion of a former super­mar­ket of the former U.S. Army base, which now serves as an art gal­lery called “PX fac­tory”, the Metro­po­link stri­ves for a medium-term and sus­tainable con­cept to make Heidel­berg a symbol for urban art, digi­ta­liz­a­tion pro­ces­ses and modern urban development.

Since 2018, the former mili­tary sett­le­ment has been con­si­de­red a kind of fes­ti­val site for the Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val, and there will also be con­certs, work­shops, film scree­nings and many other actions during the Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val, in addi­tion to wall pain­ting and designing the art hall.
room Heidelberg, chicken on wall

Since when does the Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val exist?

The Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val has now been one of the most important events in the Rhine-Neckar region since its incep­tion in 2015 and is usually atten­ded by up to 15,000 visi­tors each year.

It usually takes place bet­ween the end of July and the begin­ning of August and has a time span of up to two weeks, during which the artists trans­form entire buil­dings into a canvas of life and inspire the audi­ence with their range of crea­tive topics and how they have imple­men­ted them. The work­shops and per­for­man­ces such as street dance also enchant visi­tors since 2019.

New Per­spec­tive

he goal of the Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val is to change the view of the city through street art and to open up the pos­si­bi­lity of rec­lai­ming public space for the com­mu­nity through that very art. It also aims to streng­t­hen cul­tu­ral brid­ges in the con­text of art and sti­mu­late public exchange.

In addi­tion, it was a goal of the artists to create with the help of the fes­ti­val the pos­si­bi­lity of a free space in which they can deve­lop crea­tively. This was ulti­mately achie­ved through the Patrick Henry Village.

Urban Roman­tic Tour

Those who are very inte­res­ted in urban art have the oppor­tu­nity to admire all the pain­ted walls and learn a little more about their history of crea­tion through the Urban Roman­tic Tour, which inclu­des a tour of Heidel­berg to all the facade paintings.

The tour pro­vi­des infor­ma­tion about the artists who crea­ted the pain­tings on the walls, the history of their crea­tion and the style of the art.

Pro­ce­dure

The tour can last up to two hours and is offe­red in both Eng­lish and German. There are three tours in total, which you can take every Thurs­day at 6pm either by bike or by bus.

 

Tickets

The tickets for the Urban Art Tour are your ent­rance to the world of the Metro­po­link Heidel­berg and you can find them on this page:

https://www.metropolink-festival.de/city-tour/

loader image

Metro­po­link Heidelberg

Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val Heidelberg

Das Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val lockt mit seinem Ange­bot vieler ver­schie­de­ner urba­ner Kunst­werke und zahl­rei­cher Events jähr­lich Tau­sende Men­schen nach Heidel­berg und Region – doch was ist dieses Fes­ti­val überhaupt?

In dem fol­gen­den Arti­kel erzäh­len wir dir alles, was du über das berühmte Street Art Fes­ti­val wissen musst.

Urbane Kunst in Heidelberg

artist, graffiti art Heidelberg, moderne Stadtentwicklung , gestaltung öffentlicher raum

Bei dem Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val han­delt es sich um ein Streetart Fes­ti­val, wel­ches im Jahre 2015 von Pascal Baum­gärt­ner und unter der Schirm­herr­schaft von Prof. Dr. Eckart Würz­ner, wel­cher seit 2006 Ober­bür­ger­meis­ter von Heidel­berg ist, gegrün­det wurde.

Es kam dazu, als Pascal Baum­gärt­ner, wel­cher selbst Künst­ler ist, sich mit dem Ober­bür­ger­meis­ter von Heidel­berg, Prof. Dr. Eckart Würz­ner, auf einer seiner Ver­nis­sage über Raum­nut­zung und Streetart in Heidel­berg unter­hal­ten hat.

Da der Hei­del­ber­ger Ober­bür­ger­meis­ter selbst eng mit dem Thema Stadt­ent­wick­lung ver­bun­den ist, führte eins zum ande­ren und das Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val, wie man es jetzt kennt, ent­stand unter der Schirm­herr­schaft des Ober­bür­ger­meis­ters in Koope­ra­tion mit Pascal Baumgärtner.

Jähr­lich besu­chen über 50 welt­weit renom­mierte Street Art Künst­ler Heidel­berg. Dar­un­ter Stars wie Her­akut, sam3 oder Bordalo II. Sie ver­brin­gen ihre Zeit damit, Wand­ge­mälde mit­hilfe einer Hebe­flä­che an Gebäu­de­wän­den abzu­bil­den, was oft­mals meh­rere Tage dauern kann.

Solche Kunst­werke im Rahmen des Metro­po­link schmü­cken die Hei­del­ber­ger Innen­stadt und das Hei­del­ber­ger Umfeld, sollen eine neue Per­spek­tive auf die Stadt geben und Men­schen zum Nach­den­ken bewegen.

Kreative Arbeiten schaffen Räume und Brücken für Austausch und Interventionen in der Kunst Szene dieser Welt

Urbane Kunst von Hen­drik Beikirch

Ein sol­ches Kunst­werk befin­det sich auch in der Klein­stadt Schwet­zin­gen, 10 km west­lich von Heidel­berg, an einer Hauswand.

Der Künst­ler Hen­drik Bei­kirch malte 2020 ein Por­trät wel­ches er „Lebens­werk nannte. Es han­delt sich dabei um eine Schwet­zin­ger Spar­gel­bäue­rin und zwar um Ilse Fackel-Kretz. Ilse Fackel-Kretz ist berühmt für ihren Spar­gel und war auch schon in der Lan­des­schau-Serie über den Schwet­zin­ger Spar­ge­l­an­bau zu sehen, da nun schon drei Genera­tio­nen auf dem Spar­gel­feld stehen.

Das Kunst­werk erstreckt sich bis in eine Höhe von 5 Metern und bedeckt somit fast die ganze Hauswand.

Der Künst­ler ist für seine großen Bilder bekannt und arbei­tete auch schon welt­weit an rie­si­ger Kunst.

Ein wei­te­res von Hend­rick Bei­kirchs Kunst­wer­ken liegt in Süd­ko­rea in Busan. 2012 schuf er das 70 Meter hohe Bild eines Fischer­man­nes, wel­ches zu seinen bekann­tes­ten Bil­dern gehört. Kurz zuvor waren viele der Fischer aus Busan ver­trie­ben worden, um die kurz ent­fern­ten Hoch­häu­ser zu bauen.

Er will somit ver­su­chen, mit seinen Bil­dern tie­fere Inhalte zu ver­mit­teln und die Men­schen zum Nach­den­ken zu bewegen.

Her­akut

Bei Her­akut hin­ge­gen han­delt es sich um ein deut­sches Künst­ler­duo aus der Streetart Szene. Der Name des Künst­ler­dous schließt sich zusam­men aus den beiden Künst­ler­na­men der Künst­ler. Hera, bür­ger­li­cher Name Jasmin Sid­di­qui und Akut bür­ger­li­cher Name Falk Lehmann.

Das Künst­ler­duo arbei­tete schon in Groß­städ­ten auf der ganzen Welt, dar­un­ter Los Ange­les, Toronto, Kath­mandu und San Fran­cisco, welche sie durch Kunst­werke in ihrem ein­zig­ar­ti­gen, unver­wech­sel­ba­ren Stil, geprägt von ima­gi­nä­ren Welten und Cha­rak­te­ren ver­schö­nert haben.

 

children, graffiti
.

Eines dieser ein­zig­ar­ti­gen Werke ist auch in der Phil­ipp-Otto-Runge Straße 2 in Heidel­berg zu finden. Ent­stan­den ist es auf einem der ersten Metro­po­link Fes­ti­vals und zwar im Sommer 2016. Auf der Haus­fas­sade ist ein Riesen großes Gemälde einer Mutter mit ihren zwei Kin­dern zu sehen, welche sie beschüt­zend in ihren Armen hält. Neben dem Bild ist ein Schrift­zug mit der Inschrift:

„wenn wir uns von Äußer­lich­kei­ten abschre­cken lassen, ver­pas­sen wir womög­lich das wert­volle darunter“

Das Künst­ler­duo ver­sucht durch jedes ihrer Gemälde und deren Inschrift eine wich­tige Mes­sage an die Gesell­schaft zu übermitteln.

Sam3

Sam3 ist ein spa­ni­scher Künst­ler, der durch seine Sil­hou­et­ten arti­gen Wand­bil­der bekannt gewor­den ist. Seine Bilder sind meist iro­nisch, poe­tisch und pro­vo­kant zugleich.

Eines seiner Mar­ken­zei­chen sind Sym­bole wie bspw. Lei­tern und Wur­zeln als auch dass er ohne Farbe Illustriert.

Sein Kunst­werk, wel­ches auf dem Fes­ti­val ent­stan­den ist, kann man in der ehe­ma­li­gen Mili­tär­s­ied­lung Patrick Henry Vil­lage bewun­dern. Es stellt eine schwarze Figur da, welche mit drei ande­ren Per­so­nen spricht. Um die drei ande­ren Per­so­nen ist eine Art Kreis gezo­gen aus Wur­zeln, welche aus dem Mund der ersten Person entstehen

Künst­le­ri­sche Stadtteile

buildings,  stadt , Eppelheimer Straße 80

In Stadt­tei­len von Heidel­berg wie Bahn­stadt, Neu­en­heim oder zum Bei­spiel Rohr­bach findet man an Haus Fas­sa­den viele sol­cher urba­nen Kunstwerke.

Dazu gehört auch das Kunst­werk an einer Haus­wand in der alten Eppel­hei­mer Straße 80 von dem Künst­ler Smash137. Dieser hat dort ein Kunst­werk geschaf­fen, aus vielen krea­ti­ven Farb­sprit­zer-arti­gen Formen, welche inein­an­der über­ge­hen in ver­schie­de­nen Farben zuse­hen sind.

Viele dieser urba­nen Künste können auch in der South Get­tys­burg Avenue gese­hen werden, wo Künst­ler sich krea­tiv an den Haus­wän­den aus­le­ben durf­ten und ihre Arbeit nun stolz an den Häu­ser­fas­sa­den zu sehen ist.

Zu einem der Kul­tur­hö­he­punkte des Pan­de­mie­jah­res gehörte der Auf­tritt des deut­schen Rap­pers Samy Deluxe auf der South Get­tys­burg Avenue im August 2020

Patrick-Henry-Vil­lage

Natür­lich findet man solche Kunst­werke nicht nur an Haus­fas­sa­den in Heidel­berg, son­dern sie sind auch in der umlie­gen­den Region zu finden.

Seit 2019 beschäf­ti­gen sich die Künst­ler und Künst­le­rin­nen des Metro­po­link Fes­ti­vals damit, das Patrick-Henry-Vil­lage in einen Stadt­teil der urba­nen Zukunft zu transformieren.

Bei dem 100 Hektar großen Gelände außer­halb von Heidel­berg im Stadt­teil Kirch­heim han­delt es sich um eine frü­here US-Armee Wohn­sied­lung, welche in den 1950er-Jahren erbaut und als Unter­kunft für Mili­tär­an­ge­hö­rige und deren Fami­lien genutzt wurde.

Künstler, Wand, kunst , künstler

Nach dem Anschlag auf das World Trade Center in New York am 11.09.2001 wurde 2003 die Wohn­sied­lung abge­schot­tet und umzäunt.

Am 06. Sep­tem­ber 2013 ver­ließ dann die US-Armee das Patrick-Henry-Vil­lage, nach­dem der Groß­teil der in Heidel­berg und Umge­bung sta­tio­nier­ten Sol­da­ten und deren Fami­lien nach Wies­ba­den in das neue Haupt­quar­tier der US-Armee ver­legt worden waren.

Seit Dezem­ber 2014 werden Berei­che der ehe­ma­li­gen Mili­tär­s­ied­lung von dem Bun­des­amt für Migra­tion und Flücht­linge als Haupt Ankunfts­zen­trum in Baden-Würt­tem­berg für Flücht­linge genutzt.

Da das Patrick-Henry-Vil­lage seit 2014 so gut wie leer steht und es einer der letz­ten Frei­räume in Heidel­berg ist, stellt es den per­fek­ten Platz für das Fes­ti­val da.

Ausstellungen in der Px factory unter anderem ein portrait

Neues Leben eingehaucht

Unter Koope­ra­tion mit der inter­na­tio­na­len Bau­aus­stel­lung Heidel­berg, IBA, star­tet das Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val 2018 ein neues Pro­jekt namens „PHVi­sion“, ein Pro­jekt für Kunst, Kultur und Wissenschaft.

Die IBA hat nun seit 2012 das Motto „Wissen schafft Stadt“ und ent­wi­ckelt für kom­plexe, städ­te­bau­li­che Her­aus­for­de­run­gen Zukunfts­wei­sende Lösun­gen. Daher auch das Pro­jekt in Zusam­men­ar­beit mit Metropolink.

Mit der Umwand­lung eines ehe­ma­li­gen Super­markts des frü­he­ren US-Armee Stütz­punkts, wel­cher nun als Kunst­halle namens „PX fac­tory“ dient, strebt das Metro­po­link ein mit­tel­fris­ti­ges und nach­hal­ti­ges Kon­zept an, um Heidel­berg zu einem Symbol für Urban Art, Digi­ta­li­sie­rungs­pro­zesse und der moder­nen Stadt­ent­wick­lung zu machen.

Seit 2018 gilt die ehe­ma­lige Mili­tär­s­ied­lung als eine Art von Fes­ti­val­ge­lände für das Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val und es werden dort auch neben Wand­be­ma­lun­gen und dem Gestal­ten der Kunst­halle Kon­zerte, Work­shops, Film­vor­füh­run­gen und viele wei­tere Aktio­nen wäh­rend des Metro­po­link Fes­ti­vals angeboten.
raum Heidelberg, huhn

Seit wann gibt es das Metro­po­link Festival?

Das Metro­po­link Fes­ti­val gehört nun seit der Grün­dung 2015 zu einem der wich­tigs­ten Ereig­nisse der Rhein-Neckar-Region und wird jähr­lich in der Regel von bis zu 15 000 Besu­chern aufgesucht.

Es findet meist zwi­schen Ende Juli und Anfang August statt und hat eine Zeit­spanne von bis zu zwei Wochen, in wel­chen die Künst­ler ganze Gebäude in eine Lein­wand des Lebens ver­wan­deln und das Publi­kum durch ihr Ange­bot von krea­ti­ven Themen und wie sie diese umge­setzt haben begeis­tern. Auch die Work­shops und Auf­füh­run­gen wie bspw. Street­dance ver­zau­bern seit 2019 die Besucher.

Neue Per­spek­tive

Das Ziel des Metro­po­link Fes­ti­vals ist es, durch die Street-Art den Blick auf die Stadt zu ver­än­dern und die Mög­lich­keit zu eröff­nen, den öffent­li­chen Raum durch eben jene Kunst für die Gemein­schaft wie­der­zu­ge­win­nen. Auch sollen kul­tu­relle Brü­cken im Kon­text der Kunst gestärkt und der öffent­li­che Aus­tausch ange­regt werden.

Außer­dem war es ein Ziel der Künst­ler, mit­hilfe des Fes­ti­vals die Mög­lich­keit eines freien Raums zu schaf­fen, in wel­chem sie sich krea­tiv ent­fal­ten können. Dies hat man letzt­end­lich durch das Patrick-Henry-Vil­lage geschafft.

Urban Roman­tic Tour

Wer sich sehr für Urban Art inter­es­siert, hat die Mög­lich­keit, durch die Urban Roman­tic Tour, welche eine Rund­fahrt durch Heidel­berg zu allen Fas­sa­den­ma­le­reien beinhal­tet, alle bemal­ten Wände zu bewun­dern und noch etwas mehr über ihre Ent­ste­hungs­ge­schichte zu erfahren.

Die Tour gibt Infor­ma­tio­nen zu den Künst­lern, welche die Gemälde an den Wänden erschu­fen, zu der Ent­ste­hungs­ge­schichte und der Stil­rich­tung der Kunst.

Ablauf

Die Tour kann bis zu zwei Stun­den dauern und wird sowohl in Eng­lisch als auch in Deutsch ange­bo­ten. Es gibt ins­ge­samt drei Touren, welche man jeden Don­ners­tag um 18 Uhr ent­we­der mit dem Fahr­rad oder mit dem Bus fahren kann.

Tickets

Die Tickets zur Urban Art Tour sind euer Ein­gang zur Welt der des Metro­po­link Heidel­berg und ihr findet sie auf dieser Seite:

https://www.metropolink-festival.de/city-tour/